Ocean

 

The wood underneath my feet creaked as I gazed out onto the beautiful green shore of a remote Haitian island. What would appear so small and insignificant on a world map now looked like, in the presence of my shining eyes, as a giant behemoth. I had just gotten back onto the cruise ship after visiting the island. On the deck of the ship, I could see the ship anchored down so tight that I wondered how the ship would ever leave. I heard people who have gone back early (as I did) laughing, playing around in the pools, or relaxing on a lounge chair getting a sun tan.

unnamed.jpg

The sound of the engine roared so thunderous that I thought for sure my ear drums would break. The ship was signalling its imminent departure from shore. A few moments later, after everyone had been back on board, the ship started to take off. I looked off at the island, and what had once seemed so giant to me was getting smaller and smaller by the second. I looked on still as the glaring sun reached the peak of its intensity.

The seagulls and birds flew above me in the blue sky as the ship sailed on. The water on which we were traveling on seemed to stretch on for eternity, without a land mass in sight except for the remote island which was now quickly fading from view. The sound of the waves could be heard colliding against the side of the ship, but the ship did not budge

5632988839_88c819922e_o.jpg
Photo Dodds 2011 (CC BY-SA 2.0)

5988565576_c5a22681e8_o.jpg

A few moments had passed, and now the shore of the island had completely disappeared. All it took was one moment for the great ocean to swallow up the island. It now seemed as if we were stuck in the belly of the ocean, with nothing in sight for miles.

 

The everlasting ocean made the once green and lively ocean now seem like it had never existed and had been nothing more than an imagination. The calm blueness of the ocean took over my mind and soon I could feel, see, or hear nothing but the ocean that had surrounded us. Surely, we would reach the next island soon, I thought. However, it took almost 3 days for the 22.6 knots, 225,282 ton beast of a ship to reach the sandy shores of the next island.

Allure-hero.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

